Writing in a specific time frame

Recently I have been guilty of procrastinating when I should be writing.  I know all writers are guilty of it yet it is still something we want to conquer.  I read in a magazine that some writers set a timer and write for that amount of time.  I thought I would give it a go.  I initially set the timer for 30 minutes and wrote for those 30 minutes solid.  I then discovered I needed longer so added another 15 minutes.  If you are struggling to concentrate on the job at hand, I would recommend setting the timer.  It worked for me and is a method I will adopt again.

2 thoughts on “Writing in a specific time frame

  1. I definitely think it works. If it ceases to work, I’ll just have to find another antidote to procrastination but in the meantime I’m going to keep doing it. I have found that, not just with writing but with life in general, the simplest advice is often the best advice.

Leave a Reply

