It helps to READ THINGS PROPERLY!

I have previously mentioned that I was taking up a challenge to write a 5000 word short story within 4 weeks for a competition.  I started off with 1500 words and I have been adding to it, with the target word count of 5000 words in mind.  Tonight, I realised I was wrong.  Reading the rules on the Bridport Prize webpage, I discovered that it is a MAXIMUM of 5000 words.  I’m not going to lie, I could have bulked up my story to 5000 words but I doubt it would be the best version of the story.  The version I have now is better than it was at 1500 words but I think that with a little bit of editing, I can make my story the best version yet.

I don’t know why I didn’t read the competition rules before I began but I have learned a lesson tonight – read and read thoroughly!

I’m just glad I realised it with a week to spare 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

