Traditional vs self-publishing or a happy medium?

The debate over whether traditional publishing is better than self-publishing has long since rumbled on. As technology continues to improve and opportunities for self-publishing become easier by the day, this debate is not going to go away. Personally, I would love to receive a traditional publishing contract and all the trimmings that go with it. Realistically though, I know that self-publishing (digitally) is a better bet. DIY publishing allows you full control over your work, cover design, pricing etc. On the flip-side, this responsibility means that you are liable for it all. I have read many e-books peppered with incorrect words and erroneous spelling but seldom have I found this with published books. Traditional publishing involves professionals helping you along the way, leading your baby into adulthood, so to speak. What if there was a way to strike a balance?

The article in the link below inspired me to write this post:

A look at traditional publishing

In it, Liesel Schwartz states “It is physically impossible to edit work that you have written yourself to a final standard.”

I hadn’t previously considered the possibility of involving anyone else in my writing/editing process but this article has made me reconsider.

I’d love to hear your opinion.  Get in touch!

Diane 🙂

2 thoughts on “Traditional vs self-publishing or a happy medium?

  1. I agree with Schwartz on the whole, I think. I’m sure some people can self-edit (Hugh Howey does, as I recall), but I think the vast majority of writers simply won’t be objective enough about doing so. I gather that quite a few indies hire editors to go through their work nowadays; were I to self-publish, I would do the same for sure.

    And speaking of involving other people: have you ever had your work read by alpha/beta readers? I started doing that quite recently, and I’ve found it helps a lot.

    • I suspect that would be me – not objective enough about my work. I edit to a certain standard but a professional editor would have the experience of other people’s work to fall back on, what works and what doesn’t work. I had not previously heard of alpha/beta readers but it is certainly something to consider when I feel my novel is ready to be let loose. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

