It’s a tough life being a writer….

Tonight I have been reading various articles on the lives and deaths of famous writers.  Perhaps it is a little ghoulish to be reading such things but it is also fascinating at the same time.  The first link takes you to an article about alcoholic authors.  I have read On Writing by Stephen King in which he stated that he used to believe drink and drugs made him a better writer.  Nowadays, he sees things differently.  Anne Rice has also posted a video on YouTube urging writers not to drink.

Personally, I would agree with them.  I have sat down with a drink in the past and the writing gets forgotten about.  The drinking becomes a distraction, a time-stealer.  That time could have been spent writing.  Thankfully I’m not an alcoholic but I can understand that brief feeling that you are saying/writing something meaningful while under the influence; the false belief that drinking makes you more intelligent and talented.

Top 15 Great Alcoholic Writers

This next link is slightly morbid but fascinating at the same time.  A writer dying from cocktail stick injuries is not a common occurrence, I’m sure!

Weirdest Writer Deaths

It certainly made me think about some of my habits.  I will be careful about what goes into my mouth from now on.  I am guilty of holding pens in my mouth but after reading that article, I will not be doing that.  My imagination has me choking on a biro.  I want to be known for living by the pen, not dying by the pen.

One thought on “It’s a tough life being a writer….

  1. I think I’m slowly becoming an alcoholic writer…I used to NEVER drink it and now I do!

    There’s a few videos on YouTube from BigThink where writers give out their advice and experiences. You should check it out! It helps me a bit.

Leave a Reply

