Selfish blogger

I was reading OM’s post on his Harsh Reality blog about new/fellow bloggers and it inspired me.  I am relatively new to blogging and I still have a lot to learn.  I love receiving notifications telling me that someone has liked or commented on one of my posts but I have since realised that I have not been making enough effort to appreciate other people’s work.  I do follow people and I do skim through my reader but I think I should have been paying more attention.  I have not been reading as much as I should have, perhaps wasting my time looking at captioned pictures of cats on Facebook or pictures of what people eat for their dinner instead of reading carefully crafted blog posts by like-minded people.

I mentioned that I still have a lot to learn.  What better way to learn than from my fellow bloggers?  Wordpress is a community, after all, and I’m sure we can all learn from each other.  Today is the day I use it properly.  Today is the day I learn to read and appreciate the words that you have all taken the time to write.  No more selfish blogging!

Diane 🙂

OM’s post – http://aopinionatedman.com/2014/09/22/dear-new-bloggers/

39 thoughts on “Selfish blogger

  1. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I am glad you liked the short write and got the message! Thanks for sharing the post and for the pingback. I wish you well as you expand your blogging network! -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please comment on their post.

  2. I have learned a lot from my fellow bloggers. I follow all types of blogs, and while I may not read every single post (as I do not expect my followers to read all my posts), I do read them, and I comment on them. Sometimes, it blows up in my face like today’s small misunderstanding of philosophical doctrine, other comments make the blogger laugh, and others make them think. I just like to write, and enjoy what other people have to say.

    • Hi, thank you for taking the time to read my post and for your comment. I have been collecting a variety of blogs too and I’m looking forward to reading as many as I can, alongside good old-fashioned books. If only I didn’t have a 9 – 5 🙂

      • I have about 5 or 6 blogs I read regularly along with my 5 or 6 books that I am reading, and those are just the print books. I am not even going into my kindle 🙂 Fortunately, or perhaps, unfortunately, I do not have a job due the nature of my mental interestingness. I am firm about returning to school in the Spring. I think my pre-frontal cortex is beginning to wither even with the variety of stuff I read. Need to be productive as well.

  3. I have a new attitude toward blogging since I started following and reading OM blog. What you are explaining I also went through. I made a commitment to myself to read, like, comment or follow someone blog every day. And it’s has been fun too! Welcome.

    • Hi Renee, thanks for taking the time to read my post and leave a comment. I was super excited to see all of the notifications this morning – what a boost! If I can help someone else feel like that, I will 🙂

  4. I had a friend who complained about no response, I noticed he does not visit other blogs or leave his opinion/comments…When I told him this he said ” if that ‘s the only way I can get an audience, I will do without one” some how thinking it was selling out in some way…go figure.

    • Hmmm. Yes, I agree, that doesn’t make much sense to me. Writers may write for themselves but they want readers too. If not, why have a public blog? In my case, I hadn’t been reading blogs because I fell foul of time-stealers such as Facebook but I have been enjoying my time away from it and it allows me to read posts written with thought, rather than rants about anonymous people or misspelled rubbish. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Everyone has to come through their own trial by fire, and find the drive that sends them to the next step in the process of their self elected education, whether it be a scholastic environment, or just something you are seeking to learn along the way. It seems that you have made the first of many tiny steps that will open great big doors.

    Perhaps, we can encourage each other along the way? I also am striving to put into practice the wonderful advice OM has assembled so selflessly for others to learn from.

  6. I agree with your post, to a point. But I don’t think I’ve ever come across a blogger who isn’t selfish – it’s the nature of the beast. That’s why many of us are blogging to begin with – we want people to read us, empathize with us, and respond to us. In the process, most of us do find ourselves connecting in some way with other bloggers – hence the “community” – but I suspect the majority of us each thinks our individual blog is better than everyone else’s. At least I know mine is, 🙂

  7. I’m a new blogger too and was also inspired by Harsh Reality’s posts–and he’s also so helpful and welcoming to newbies. I was worried and frustrated about not getting enough hits or followers and decided to blog about it–well next thing I new he reblogged my rant and suddenly a ton of people showed up on my blog! And like you, I also feel like I need to spend more time just reading, rather than selfishly working on my own blog. I’ve promised myself I will write at least one post a day, but that’s no excuse to not read the work of others and I’ve been getting lazy with that too. Welcome!

    • I started my blog last year but I wasn’t blogging regularly. I have become more active lately but I know I can improve further. I look forward to learning from fellow bloggers. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and for your comment 🙂

  8. I am also a new blogger, only a couple of months in. I am grateful for Harsh Reality’s help now and then. His network has helped me a lot. That’s how I discovered you! It’s true we shouldn’t be selfish bloggers. We bloggers must stick together and help one another. 🙂 Great post!

Leave a Reply

