What comes easier to you…………

…………dialogue or description?  I am currently participating in NaNoWriMo and I have found that so far, the bulk of my work has been made up by dialogue.  Until now, I didn’t realise that I felt so comfortable writing it.  The aim is, by the end of November I will have written around 50,000 words towards a novel.  I know it will be very rough.  In fact, I am itching to edit but know that I can’t.  The method of just writing and not editing has been good for me.  I am working through the story quicker.  I know I will have to add flesh to the bones but I have enjoyed not picking it apart because I now realise that it was debilitating in the past.  By the end of this month, I could have written my first novel.  What an exciting prospect!

Is anyone else doing NaNoWriMo?

If not, what are your thoughts on writing dialogue? Do you find it easier than descriptive writing?

What do you think about writing without editing?

I’d love to hear from you.

Diane 🙂

2 thoughts on “What comes easier to you…………

  1. Dialogue has always been hard for me. I tried writing plays and they never worked well for me. I found it difficult to describe and show the world with just dialogue. I love imagining the world around my characters and sharing it with my readers.

    • Thanks for your comment, I’m sorry I didn’t see it til now. I primarily use my iPhone for WordPress now and the comment did not appear. I just noticed it tonight on my laptop. Anyway, I digress! At the moment, dialogue appears to be my comfort zone but I’m looking forward to tackling descriptive passages. I love a challenge!

Leave a Reply

