Why Our Future Depends on Libraries, Reading and Daydreaming by Neil Gaiman

I happened across an article on BrainPickings.org about reading and it makes so many valid points about why reading is important.  I won’t regurgitate what I read but I wanted to share the article because I think it’s worth sharing.  Ours is a book house.  We own books, we read them, we use the local library too.  I read every night before going to bed and at various points throughout the day.  I have always read to my kids before bedtime as part of their wind-down routine.  My son is now old enough to read most things himself and so I let him pick what he wants to read.  At the moment, it’s Pokemon or Minecraft manuals which is not necessarily what I would choose for him but the important thing is he enjoys reading them.  He is absorbing.  He is learning.  He is enjoying books.

Long live the art of reading!

Here is the article —>  Why We Read and What Books Do for the Human Experience

 

Di 🙂

 

One thought on “Why Our Future Depends on Libraries, Reading and Daydreaming by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

